Our President Lars Tharp, holding a Picasso ceramic from the Attenborough collection - find out more about LSA Presidents, both present and past, on the Information section


Photograph of LSA President Lars Tharp

Lars Tharp

LSA President from 2015

Lars is a passionate ambassador for art in all its forms and has served on the jury of the annual Art Fund Prize (2009 and 2010), the UK’s most prestigious Museums and Galleries award.

Born in Copenhagen, Lars was educated in Leicester and Cambridge. He lectures and guides throughout the world on subjects ranging from Ceramic History to the world of William Hogarth.  His Global Arts Communications business advises on the acquisition, care and disposal of artworks, notably including the successful private sale of China’s hitherto most expensive vase.  As curator he has devised and overseen exhibitions in UK museums including in his own Foundling Museum (London) where, until 2010, he was Director.

Lars is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London and he sits on the Court of London’s oldest Guild, the Worshipful Company of Weavers. His many TV and radio credits include the BBC’s Antiques Roadshow (1986 to present) and his documentary Treasures of Chinese Porcelain continues to be screened throughout the world.

W: tharp.co.uk

LSA Past President Douglas Smith

Douglas H Smith

LSA President 1987-2005

Architect, Artist and author of eight books on architecture, design, paintings and sketches. He held an unprecedented term of office as President of the Leicester Society of Artists for 27 years.

He founded and directed Douglas Smith Stimson Partnership Limited (DSSP) that was based in Leicester, a multi disciplinary practice of architects, landscape architects and interior designers.

Douglas now concentrates on painting and sketching. His watercolours are in collections of Europe, America and Canada.  His original 34 watercolours and 30 drawings, produced for  his book 'Iconic Modern Architecture'  have become part of the RIBA Drawing Collection held by the Victoria & Albert Museum London.  

Photograph of Bryan Organ

Bryan Organ

LSA President 1982-1986

Eminent portrait painter, recent work includes the portrait of Sir David Attenborough, his portfolio includes prime ministers, royal family, well known people such as Mary Quant, Elton John and many public and private commissions

Bryan Organ is now Patron of Leicester Society of Artists


LSA Presidents 1906 - 2019

2015 – present:  Lars Tharp, FSA
1987 – 2015   Douglas H Smith, Dip Arch FRIBA, FLI, FRSA
1982 – 1986   Bryan Organ
1977 – 1981   Guy Dixon JP
1971 – 1976   Denis Rice
1969 – 1970   Professor Jack Simmons
1967 – 1968   Konrad Smigielski
1965 – 1966   S J Pick
1963 – 1964   Stewart Mason
1958 – 1962   Guy Dixon JP
1956 – 1957   Alderman C R Keene CB JP
1953 – 1955   T G Hirst
1951 – 1952   Colin D B Ellis MC
1949 – 1950   Alderman W H Smith JP

1945 – 1948   H Percy Gee
1944 – 1945   A H Swain
1942 – 1944   Arnold Viccars
1940 – 1942   Harry Morley RA
1934 – 1940   The Duke of Rutland
1931 – 1934   Sir Arthur (Lord) Hazlerigg
1926 – 1930   George E Green
1920 – 1925   Sir Jonathan North
1913 – 1919   Sydney Gimson
1911 – 1912   George Chitham
1909 – 1910   A Corah
1907 – 1908   A H Paget
1900 – 1906   E Clephan