2020 Past Members logo

In the LSA Annual Exhibition 2021 (7- 31 October 2021) at Newarke Houses Museum we remember the work of these members who sadly died in 2020.



Ruth Cockayne - painting detail

Ruth Cockayne

Elected 1976

Ruth Cockayne trained in fashion design at Leicester College of Art (now De Montfort University). She was a member of the Pastel Society from 1971-1986. ....read more

D Charles Eames - sculpture of Rhodda

D Charles Eames

elected 1949

Charles Eames was born 1928 and educated at the Leicester City Boys School, then at Leicester College of Art, taking the ATD course under A.E. Christopherson and Hugh Collinson. . .read more

Michael Haswell, painting detail

Michael Haswell

elected 1999

Born in Leicester, Michael Haswell lived in the city throughout his life. He completed a three year course in Shoe Design at Leicester College of Art & Technology, .. . .read more

Val Leedham, painting (detail)

Valerie Leedham


elected 1971

Joan Roobottom, painting (detail)

Joan Roobottom

elected 1962

Joan Roobottom was teacher of Art in Further Education centres in Leicester. She had work accepted and hung five times in the Royal Academy Summer Exhibition . . .read more

Peter Sumpter, painting

Peter Sumpter GAvA

elected 1958

Peter Sumpter was born in 1933. He completed his National Service at RAF Wyton and became a technical illustrator. Peter taught art in adult education classes at Charles Keene College . . . . read more